Flash: OFF   This site is designed for use with Macromedia Flash Player. Click here to install.   WELS
Search   for     
Zion Evangelical Lutheran Church

(507) 647-5582
608 Highland Dr
PO Box C

Winthrop, MN  55396


More About Us...

Our current directory can be viewed here: https://mobiledirectory.lifetouch.com/394992/zion-lutheran-church

Zion Evangelical Lutheran Church
Zion is a member of the Wisconsin Evangelical Lutheran Synod (WELS). We believe in Jesus Christ, our Savior, the Holy Triune God, and confess the Nicene Creed. We are not shy about our faith, but rather take to heart the words of God "Go into all the world and preach the Good News to every creature". We invite you to learn and live your faith!

We invite you to worship with us and learn more about our congregation:  its pastors, leaders and staff; its opportunities for worship and growth; and its beliefs, programs of Christian education, and opportunities for fellowship.

Our Mission

Zion Evangelical Lutheran Church exists to glorify the Triune God by proclaiming the gospel of Jesus Christ to our families,our community, and the world.

Our History

Zion  Evangelical Lutheran Church, Winthrop, Minnesota was organized in 1899 as they met in their little chapel under the leadership of Pastor Justus Naumann from Immanuel Lutheran, Gibbon, Minnesota.  Heir first called minister was Pastor Herman C. Ritz who was ordained and installed on July 29, 1900.  A parsonage was built in 1901.  In 1904 a church was purchased from the First Lutheran (Swedish) Church in Winthrop and moved to Fourth Street and Renville south of the Public School.  The parsonage was then moved next to it.

The first church was converted to a parochial school.  The present church was dedicated to the call of service of the Triune god on June 4, 1967.

Called pastors serving throughout the 100 years of Grace were:

Pastor Herman C. Ritz  1900-1909

Pastor Peter Schlemiel  1909-1911

Pastor August C. Barz   1911-1920

Pastor C. Wm. A. Kuehner  1920-1963

Pastor W. J. Oelhafen  1964-1974

Pastor Lee Strackbein  1975-1979

Pastor John Stellick  1980-1997

Pastor Paul Tessmer 1998-2020

Pastor Peter Naumann  Interim Pastor as of January 2020

Copyright ©  2020 Zion Evangelical Lutheran Church. All Rights Reserved. Church Websites by Finalweb